Steering group

The Steering Group acts on behalf of the Board to guide the development of Academic Libraries North (ALN) and its work.  It oversees all ALN activities, manages the progression of the ALN strategy and sets the agenda for Board meetings.  The Group meets three times a year to monitor the activities of the organisation.

Members of the Steering Group are elected for a period of three years, with an option for re-election.

The Steering Group currently consists of:

Name Role Institution
Rosie Jones Chair / EDI Co-Lead Teesside
Kathryn Smith Vice Chair Northumbria
Phil Cheeseman Staff Development Lead Lancaster
Paul Everitt Communications Lead Manchester Met
Michael Fake Financial Lead Leeds
Kay Grieves Groups Lead  Sunderland
Maria Mirza EDI Co-Lead Edge Hill
Jackie Oliver Procurement lead Teesside
Nicky Freeman Development Manager ALN
Andy Walsh Development Manager ALN

The Chair and Vice Chair are nominated from among the Board and an election will be held if more than one nomination is received.  Other officers, including the Finance Lead, will be agreed within the Steering Group. It is anticipated each Steering Group member will lead in one area, for example, Staff Development, SIGs/CoPs, Procurement etc.

Development Managers
ALN employs 2 Development Managers on a job share basis who deal with the day-to-day activities of ALN and have responsibility for the administrative running of the reciprocal Staff Development programme; serve as secretary to the Board, Steering Group and Senior Staff Group; and have an overview of the procurement activities undertaken by the consortium.

The Development Managers report directly to the ALN Chair, are employed by SCONUL and are ex-officio members of the consortium’s Steering Group.